top of page




The vast majority of Kenyans claim to be "Christian". However this group is comprised of all Prostestants. There is a sizeable fraction of Roman Catholics and a notable number of Muslims. When one surveys to people of this country it is easy to understand why it has been said that true Christianity in Africa is one mile wide and one inch deep.


​The land became a British protectorate in 1890 and a Crown colony in 1920, called British East Africa. Nationalist stirrings began in the 1940s, and in 1952 the Mau Mau movement, made up of Kikuyu militants, rebelled against the government. The fighting lasted until 1956. In 1963 Kenya gained Independence and one year later became a Republic.


Kenya is a multilingual country. The Bantu Swahili language and English, serve as the two official working languages. It is estimated that there are over 40 tribal languages. This variety is a reflection of the country's diverse population that includes most major ethnoracial and linguistic groups found in Africa.


Kenya lies on the equator with the Indian Ocean to the south-east, Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, South Sudan to the north-west, Ethiopia to the north and Somalia to the north-east. Kenya covers 581,309 km2 (224,445 sq mi).


The country has a warm and humid climate along its Indian Ocean coastline, with wildlife-rich savannah grasslands inland towards the capital. Nairobi has a cool climate that gets colder approaching Mount Kenya, which has three permanently snow-capped peaks. Further inland there is a warm and humid climate around Lake Victoria, and temperate forested and hilly areas in the western region. The northeastern regions along the border with Somalia and Ethiopia are arid and semi-arid areas with near-desert landscapes. 


Kenya is one of the few African countries that protects their wildlife. As a result, there are many tourists that enjoy the natural beauty of this country. Kenya boasts "the big five"--lion, elephant, rhinoceros, leopard, and cape buffalo! 

bottom of page